What I Miss

So I should be writing my final Scottish literature essay right now, but I’m not. I woke up early this morning and wrote over 1000 words in less than two hours, so I figure I’m due for a little break. And yes, it is a little ironic that I’m taking a break from writing by writing. I like writing, just not always writing about the Scottish literary renaissance. Don’t worry though (not that I expect you to), I’m going to spend the rest of today and tomorrow finishing up the essay, because on Sunday I leave for Amsterdam! I’ll be there from Sunday until Wednesday at which point I will get back to Glasgow, hurriedly polish up my essays, turn them in, and then fly off to Barcelona next Friday! Then I’ll be back in Scotland, having fun and doing Christmas-ey things until my exam on the 17th. Then home on the 20th. What a life.

Anyway, the title of this post is something I don’t think I’ve written about on this blog yet. Those of you who know me might be surprised to learn that I have not been homesick at all during this semester. Sure, there are certain things that I miss, but I have not yet felt genuinely homesick. It’s strange how fast I got used to Glasgow; it feels like I’ve been here much longer than three months. So it’s with a certain sense of sadness that I approach the last two weeks of the semester. I’m ready to go home for Christmas, and yet I don’t really want to leave. Given the giant disaster that was the last time I spent an extended amount of time away from home (a disaster that also goes by the name of Santa Clara), I’d say this is a massive improvement.

So that being said, for no particular reason other than I feel like writing it, here’s a list of things I miss from home (aside from friends and family):

  • my piano
  • Chipotle/Taco Bell/Mexican food (both authentic and not)
  • my coffeemaker
  • Ted and Wally’s (the people and the ice cream)
  • shoveled sidewalks and snowboots
  • my car
  • Netflix
  • food that is not sandwiches, frozen dinners, or frozen pizza

So there, you have it. I’ve really been missing my piano the most. I haven’t found one here, so I think this is the longest I’ve ever gone without playing. Anyway, I’d better stop writing and get ready to go to class. My last class of the semester and my last class at the University of Glasgow! Until next time…

Megan

One response to “What I Miss

  1. Megan,
    I finally read your posts (many). What great writing and pictures and films! I feel like I’m young and on an adventure again. What I Miss. tugs at me
    I’m so glad you made this trip.
    I look forward to your recollections and photos in front of the fireplace back home. Enjoy every nanosecond left.
    Love,
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

