Haggis Party!

So last night I attended a Haggis Party put on by thirty student volunteers from the University of Glasgow. We split into three groups and went to different flats. I got the chance to see a real Glaswegian student flat (which was lovely) and try a plate of haggis! For those of you who don’t know, haggis is sort of the national dish of Scotland. It is mostly minced sheep’s lungs with a bit of heart, liver, oats, onions, and spices thrown in. It is traditionally simmered in a sheep’s stomach, but I think the stuff we had was made in a plastic casing. It looks kind of like tabouleh, but certainly tastes different. For more on haggis, click here. Anyway, it is usually served with “neeps and tatties,” which is mashed potatoes and mashed swede (although the serving I got was not mashed). Here’s a picture of my plate.

So you are probably wondering, what did I think of this strange dish? Actually, I thought it was quite good, though I’m glad I didn’t know what it was before I ate it. Despite now knowing what haggis consists of, I would eat it again. Honestly, it wasn’t bad.

For desert, we had cranachan which is a Scottish pudding made of double cream, honey, whiskey, raspberries, and oats. Even though I’m not a big fan of berries, I thought it was pretty good, too.

Apparently, it is a tradition to address the haggis before eating it. So before we ate, one of our hosts read a Robert Burns’ poem called “Address to a Haggis.” I caught a video of it, which you can see below. Note the kilt.

Megan

P.S.- To those of you who have commented on my blog, thanks! It’s nice to know that people actually read it. Keep commenting!

P.P.S.- I’m trying to put photos up both on my blog and Facebook, but from now on I think I might just put a select few on the blog and all of them on Facebook. So in other words, if you want to see lots of pictures, friend me on Facebook!

3 responses to “Haggis Party!

  1. Terrific poetry. What does it actually say. 🙂 . I will have to get a facebook account.

  2. I listened to the haggis poem and realized the Scottish don’t speak English as I know it. I guess you must be getting used to the quirky accent and the vernacular of Scotland. Your pictures are wonderful. I hope you continue to post lots of them.

  3. Glad you are having some fun! The castle by the sea sounded really beautiful, and the haggis sounded interesting, and it was nice to see that there was such a large crowd at the meal. I ate brains once in college just to try it and it was edible, but I never did it again!

Leave a Reply

