First Day of Orientation

Today was the first day of orientation. All of the study abroad students met in a lecture hall and the study abroad adviser went over lots of things including: Scotland, Glasgow, the university, enrolment, registration (which is different from enrolment), and more. It was really quite informative, I thought. Registration (or what they call enrolment) here is nothing like back at home. At Creighton, you figure out the classes you want and then log on to the Internet and sign up for them. You can see all of the class times, credits, enrollment capacities, and everything before you sign up. Here, there seems to be no organized system for signing up for classes. You don’t know when the classes are being offered or where. For some classes, to enrol, you must simply go to the first class session. For others, you have to contact the specific department and enrol. It’s just one big confusing mess, if you ask me.

Tomorrow, we have what they call the “supermarket session.” That is when representatives from each department come and we are able to ask them if we are able to take certain classes, when they are, and any other questions we may have. It’s a sort of class fair, if you will. The only thing I’m really worried about at this point is conflicting classes. I only have a few classes that I was pre-approved for and if they conflict, I know it’s going to be a big hassle to try to find other classes that Glasgow will let me take and that will transfer back home. Anyway, I’m sure I’ll sort it all out tomorrow.

So that was the majority of my day. I was able to have lunch with the other Creighton student who is here this fall. After orientation, I ventured out to find a cell phone and some more groceries/room supplies. I’m proud to say that I accomplished both. Everything is pretty close to where I live. There are several little grocery stores and what seems like hundreds of shops, restaurants, and coffee houses. Strangely, I’ve seen several Subways and at least one Starbucks. I haven’t tried the coffee yet, but from the sheer number of coffee houses, I’m betting I’ll be able to find some palatable stuff. The phone store was about a twenty-minute walk from my flat, and the supermarket was about twenty minutes away from there (in the general direction of my flat). The walk back from the grocery store felt long. Even though I only had three bags of groceries, I was pretty tired by the time I got back.

It’s pretty nice to be able to walk around and find what I need though. I’m glad I haven’t had to deal with public transportation or taxis yet. The university is about a fifteen to twenty-minute walk from my flat. But I get to walk through the beautiful Kelvingrove Park to get there, so I don’t mind it. Yet. I haven’t really had a chance to explore it yet, but the park seems really nice. There’s a river running through it, tennis courts, lawn bowling courts, and some trails. There’s also the Kelvingrove Art Museum, which I wandered into the other day. I didn’t really get a chance to look around though, since I was so tired. I just decided to go back to my flat.

Anyway, as I came back to my flat from my shopping adventures, I ran into a couple of girls and we went out to dinner. We went to a little Indian place just up the street. We were the only people in there, but the food was pretty good. I ended up spending more than I intended because there was a one pound fee for sitting in the restaurant and a one pound fee for getting our food put in take-away boxes. I spent twelve pounds which comes to about eighteen and a half dollars. I’ve got to be a little more careful about how I spend my money. I’m not too upset, I’ve only been here for about 48 hours, and I’m bound to make mistakes like that. Luckily, the phone I just purchased has a currency converter that I can use in future situations.

I wish I had some pictures to upload, but unfortunately I haven’t taken any yet. I’m sure I’ll get some later this week since I am going on both a walking tour of Glasgow and a day trip to Culzean Castle. Anyway, I think that’s about it for now. Cheers!

Megan

P.S.- I live in the Kelvinhaugh Gate residence on Kelvinhaugh Street near Kelvingrove Park and the Kelvingrove Museum. Sensing a trend? It’s all due to this guy.

2 responses to “First Day of Orientation

  1. Megan, loved reading this blog! Kirsten, my neice in Vienna, goes to University there and says the same thing about classes. You go to the class you want to and register then. Then they may or may not have room for you. Rather strange and disorganized compared to our system. In the past the European University System offered a better education than the American system, but I believe that has changed. Class attendance is not a requirement in Vienna…how about Glasgow? A professor and friend of mine from Creighton, Dr. Mike Lawler, is Scottish and claims that he is Irish along with all the other Scotts. I’ve always wondered if that is true. let me know what you find out. Can’t wait to read the rest of your blog, so will continue. If you find anything relating to harry Potter take lots of pictures. Kirsten is your age and has read every Harry Potter book as soon as it was available, including buying it early through Amazon so i would bet many of your fellow students will be harry Potter fans as well. All my love and prayers, Joyce

    • There are two types of classes for each course: lectures and tutorials. Lectures are exactly what you’d think they are, one professor talking to a large group of students. Tutorials are smaller groups that meet once a week; they are more discussion based, I think. Anyway, from what I heard, attendance is taken at tutorials but not at lectures. They strongly encourage class attendance. I don’t start classes until September 20th though, so I guess I’ll find out what it’s really like then. I’m not sure about the whole Irish/Scottish thing, but I remember Dad saying something about that, too. I’ll try to find out more…

Leave a Reply

