Departure Day

Hello again! Well, the day has finally arrived. It’s September 3rd and my flight leaves for Glasgow (by way of Chicago, then London) tonight at 7 pm CST. It’s kind of hard to believe that I am actually flying halfway around the world to study for a semester. The process of applying to study abroad at Creighton is nothing short of painful. The amount of forms and meetings and things you have to do seems endless. It’s almost enough to make a person decide that studying abroad isn’t worth the hassle. I know I felt that way a few times. But I’m done with all of that now. The only thing left to do is get on the plane.

The magnitude of what I am about to do hasn’t fully hit me yet. It’s easy to lose sight of the bigger picture when you are so focused on filling out forms and preparing to go. But now that all of that is done, I will admit, I am a little nervous. I’m nervous about flying over alone. I’ve only been out of the country once, five years ago on a service trip to the Dominican Republic. Everything on that trip was arranged for me and I traveled with a group of seven other students and two chaperones. This time, though, I’ll be alone. I just hope I can figure out how to apply for my student visa, find a taxi, and get to the university before it gets too late (since my plane lands at 7 pm Glasgow time).

Other things I’m nervous about:

  • food: I’m not a terribly great cook and I hear peanut butter is difficult to find it Europe…
  • classes: I’m not worried about the actual classes per se, I’m just worried about the registration process. I hope I can get a few classes that will transfer back to my majors… otherwise I may never graduate.
  • traveling: We don’t have any long breaks, so I’m hoping to find some friends that want to travel on weekends. I just hope I can make good use of the time I have. I may need to work on my class-skipping skills…

Things I’m looking forward to:

  • getting out of Omaha: Don’t get me wrong, I love Omaha, but it’s getting a little old. It’ll be nice to be somewhere new.
  • not having to work: I worked two jobs for over a year to save up for this trip. I’ll be glad to have a break from that.
  • being in Europe (!!!): I think that about explains it.
  • traveling: My one must-see place is France. Other than that, I don’t really have any strict plans. I just hope to travel as much as possible. England and Ireland are likely. Germany, Italy, and Spain would be cool (although I’m trying to convince Erin to go to Madrid in the spring so I can visit her). Maybe somewhere north like Sweden or even Iceland. We’ll see.
  • making new friends: The University of Glasgow has a big international population, so I’m looking forward to meeting people from all over the world.
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Yes, I am a nerd. But how cool will it be to actually be in the country where the movies were filmed (slash where Hogwarts really exists)? Hopefully I can find a midnight showing, maybe even in London, and some fellow HP nerds to tag along.

Well, I’m off to do some last minute preparations. I’m mostly packed, just a few things I need to pick up (toothpaste, etc.). See you on the other side!

Megan

2 responses to “Departure Day

  1. Ummm, I’m totally with you for Harry Potter, and finding Hogwarts….not that I’m stalking you or anything….

  2. Megan, how exciting! Enjoy yourself, and I look forward to reading your blog!

    Pat

Leave a Reply

