“Our Choice: A Plan to Solve the Climate Crisis”

I recently read an article in Time about Al Gore’s new book “Our Choice: A Plan to Solve the Climate Crisis.” It reaffirmed my belief that Al Gore really knows what he is talking about. The article said that Gore has held several private summits where he gathers together groups of scientists, academics, businessmen, politicians, and others to make presentations on a variety of subjects related to climate change and sustainability. The man has really done his homework. He knows what he is talking about. Which brings me to my next point.

I don’t understand why so many people are quick to question Gore’s data and motives. Would we do still do this if Gore was not a politician but a college professor? Would we do this if he was not a politician but simply a concerned citizen? I really don’t think we would. Because he is a politician, people act like he has some ulterior motive. Like he is a door-to-door salesman with some sneaky pyramid plan to suck us into. Reality check: what could Gore possibly profit from by alerting the world to the current climate crisis? Nothing. It is a selfless task he is undertaking. According to Amazon.com, he is donating 100% of the earnings from his new book to his non-profit, the Alliance for Climate Protection.

The truth is, he is a man who is truly concerned about and dedicated to the environment. He is also a man who happened to be the Vice President of the United States and a candidate for President at one point in his career. As indicated by the Time article I read, he has done an incredible amount of research on climate change and sustainability issues. He has a significant amount of scientific research to back up his arguments. I really have no qualms about accepting what Al Gore says as truth. That is not to say I take it as the Absolute Truth. Obviously, as a serious student, I absorb all new information with a grain of salt, a healthy dose of disbelief. But what reason do I have to mistrust Gore? Frankly, none.

Obviously, I haven’t read the book yet. Hopefully, I will get to read it sometime soon (perhaps over Christmas break?), and then perhaps my opinion will change. Or perhaps it will strengthen. I don’t know. But these are my thoughts for now…

 

Megan

One response to ““Our Choice: A Plan to Solve the Climate Crisis”

  1. The Alliance for Climate Protection pays all Al’s expenses for chartering huge jets to trasnport his reduce carbon emissions message to glamorous resorts and exotic locales. His expenses thus far have not left much to actually Protect except some fund raising events so maybe something actually gets done.

Leave a Reply

