Bread

I bought some Earthgrains whole wheat bread the other day, and didn’t notice until this morning that it has an image on the front saying that Earthgrains proudly supports the Nature Conservancy (on whose site I calculated my carbon footprint). What a small world.

We watched about the first half hour of An Inconvenient Truth today, and so far, I like it. Not only is it a slick presentation, but Al Gore speaks in a way that is accessible to everyone (particularly us non-science-folk). I’ve been meaning to watch it since it came out, but I just never got around to it, so I am glad we are watching it in class. In fact, I am glad Gore made it in the first place. I was (and still am) amazed by the impact this one documentary had (and continues to have) on the modern environmental movement. Isn’t it incredible how one relatively short film can bring such widespread awareness to such an important issue? (Sidenote: I am very interested in film, and am considering becoming a director or cinematographer, so naturally this interests me.) On the other hand though, the subject of the film depresses me. Seeing the destruction we humans have wreaked on our planet makes me incredibly sad. Watching the glaciers fall apart and hearing the projected statistics about how the world will be in fifty years made me sad for future generations.

Random tangent: I remember writing a biology report my freshman year of high school on the destruction of rainforests around the world and being astonished at the rate of acres cut down per second (which is something like 1.5 acres/s) and the rate of species extinction. This reminds me of what Gore said in the film: environmental issues are not political issues, they are moral issues. If we don’t feel a sense of guilt for what we are doing to our planet, something is wrong. (That sounds somewhat radical. Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not some crazy environmentalist. I’m just a regular person who sometimes forgets to recycle and uses to much gasoline in my car but is concerned for future generations and for Earth.)

Megan

Leave a Reply

