All the President’s Men

I watched All the President’s Men a couple of days ago. Even though it was difficult to follow at times, I found it to be quite an interesting film. Of course, I think Dustin Hoffman is one of the funniest/greatest actors out there, so that probably influenced my perception of the film. 

Anyway, in terms of the film itself, I thought it was well shot, well acted, and well written. It actually won four Oscars and was nominated for four more. Overall, I thought it was a pretty good film.

In terms of the story, which is obviously based on a true story, I thought it brought up a lot of ethical questions concerning journalism. Woodward and Bernstein went to such lengths to get a story that no one believed in because none of their sources would go on record. Of course, now we know their reports were true, but at the time, it must have been incredibly difficult for them (and their editor and publisher) to stand by their work. I was really impressed by the amount of dedication they showed for this investigation. They acted more like detectives than journalists. But in the end, it was their tireless work that changed the face of the American government (literally and figuratively).

Here’s a trailer for the film:

So I know this doesn’t necessarily have to do with what we’ve been learning about in class, but it does have to do with journalism in general, and journalism ethics in particular, which is something Creighton JMC students will inevitably have to think about and deal with. All the President’s Men an interesting story, I’d recommend the film to anyone. Watching the movie made me want to go read the book… I think I’ll probably do that this summer.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

