Bill Frakes Lecture

I thought the Bill Frakes lecture on Friday was a bit of a let-down to be honest. I guess I was just expecting something different. I thought his photographs were good and I enjoyed looking at them, but I wasn’t really impressed with the multimedia format. The pictures flashed too quickly for one to get a good look at them and sometimes the background music/sounds were distracting. Also, there was a lot more tech talk than I expected. I don’t know much about terabytes or file storage or compression or any of that, and that aspect of the lecture literally made me sleepy.

Overall, the lecture seemed to be a bit disorganized. I understand that they were under time constraints and had been working hard at the state wrestling tournament, but they didn’t seem to be prepared to talk for two and a half hours. I wanted to learn more about Frakes’ background and how he got into photography. I wanted to hear more stories and less about the technological stuff. Don’t get me wrong, it was an interesting experience, and I am glad I went. It just wasn’t what I was expecting, I guess.

Leave a Reply

